OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE PETITION

READ THIS PACKET CAREFULLY

A person must file a verified petition with the clerk in the COUNTY and PRECINCT where they reside or where the offense occurred that resulted in the suspension.

Once ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS are obtained, you must file with the court to obtain an Occupational License Hearing Date.

The fee for filing an Occupational License in the Justice Courts is \$54.00.

You must bring ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS (these are listed in the packet you received in Section 5) to your Occupational License Hearing. If you do not have **all required documents** your Occupational License may be **DENIED**.

Please note** when submitting the hours needed for operation of a motor vehicle, this ONLY includes the time spent behind the wheel of the vehicle, not the hours worked, or attending school. You may need extra paper in order to list the times.

(example: you live 30 minutes from your 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM job with lunch from 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM. You will need to write down following:

from 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM

from 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

from 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Total hours: 3

Please contact our office if you have any questions. (903) 453-6930

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE WAYNE MONEY HUNT COUNTY, TEXAS

C	CAUSE NO		
	§	IN THE JUSTICE CO	URT
	§		
STATE OF TEXAS	§	PRECINCT 1, PLACE	E 1
	§	XAS	
(Name of Petitioner)			
<u>PETIT</u>	ION FOR OCCU	PATIONAL LICENSE	
I,	provided below.	(You must swear that the informa	ition you provide in
Section 1. General Information.			
You must complete all applicable se	ections.		
My name is:			
My date of birth is:			
I am a resident of		County, Texas.	
My home address is:			
☐ I am employed by: occupation is			and my
☐ I am the primary caretake☐ I have been ordered by a	er of childre a magistrate to ins		•

	I have not been ordered by a magistrate to install an ignition interlock device on my vehicle, and/or not to operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an ignition interlock device. I have a commercial driver's license. I do not have a commercial driver's license.
Sectio	n 2. Reason(s) for Driver's License Suspension.
You m	ust complete all applicable sections.
	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of an arrest for an intoxication-related offense in County, because: \[\sum_{\text{A peace officer requested a sample of my breath or blood and I refused; or } \] \[\sum_{\text{I provided a sample of my breath or blood, and the sample contained an alcohol concentration greater than 0.08.} \]
	My driver's license has been automatically suspended as the result of a conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in a County or District Court. My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for a criminal offense in a justice or municipal court. (<i>Please provide information regarding this offense, including the name of the court in which you were convicted, the cause number, and the type of offense, below.</i>)
0	My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a physical or mental disability. My driver's license has been suspended as the result of a conviction for Racing on a Highway. My driver's license has been suspended because a court found that I am a "habitual violator of traffic laws." My driver's license has been suspended because a court ordered me to attend a Driver Education Program and suspended my license for 365 days. My driver's license has been suspended because of a failure to pay surcharges ordered by the State of Texas.
	My driver's license has been suspended for another reason, described below:

Section 3. Essential Need.

You must complete all applicable sections.

(Note: In order to obtain an occupational license, you must demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor vehicle. The Texas Transportation Code defines "essential need" as the "need of a person for the operation of a motor vehicle: (A) in the performance of an occupation or trade or for transportation to and from the place at which the person practices the person's occupation or trade; (B) for transportation to and from an educational facility in which the person is enrolled; or (C) in the performance of essential household duties." In order to demonstrate an essential need to operate a motor vehicle, you may attach additional documentation, such as a letter from your employer. If you attach additional documentation, be sure to check the appropriate box in Section 5 of this petition.)

☐ I am seeking this occupational license in order to <i>(check all that apply)</i> :				
 □ Travel to and from my place of work; □ Perform the duties of my job; □ Travel to and from school; or □ Perform essential household duties. 				
The following are addresses and descriptions of all destination to which I seek to travel with my occupational license:				
In the space below, fully describe all public transportation options within one mile of any destination described above, including your home, place of work, school, or place where you perform essential household duties. Public transportation options may include bus service, rail service, rural automobile service, ride-sharing services, etc.				
 □ I am the only member of my household who owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle. □ A member of my household other than me owns, leases, or has access to a motor vehicle. (Please describe this person's weekly schedule below.) 				

I own a bicycle or other means of non-motorized conveyance, described below.		
My work or school schedule is the same every week: I work or attend school during the following hours on the following days of the week Please note: A person may operate a moto vehicle for no more than four hours within a 24 hour period, unless the defendant demonstrates at essential need, in which case the court may allow a person to drive up to 12 hours in a 24 hour period (check all that apply):		
☐ Monday: from	to	
☐ Tuesday: from	to	
☐ Wednesday: from	to	
☐ Thursday: from	to	
☐ Friday: from	to	
☐ Saturday: from	to	
☐ Sunday: from	to	
(If you check this box, provide a ge total number of hours you work or	eneral description of y r attend school each 1 on which you always	erson to drive up to 12 hours in a 24 hour period. our work or school schedule below, including the veek, days of the week on which you never work work or attend school, and the earliest time your e or school day ends.)
My job duties include automoto perform the following tasks:	•	ployer requires me to travel by automobile
I perform the following essenti	ial household dutie	s:

	In order to perform the automobile during the following th					•
		to		,		
	☐ Tuesday: from	to				
	☐ Wednesday: from	to				
	☐ Thursday: from	to				
	☐ Friday: from	to				
	☐ Saturday: from	to				
	☐ Sunday: from	to				
Section	☐ Travel to school; ☐ Travel to my place ☐ Perform my job du ☐ Travel to the place I must travel by automobi counties and routes traveled) ☐ Travel to the place	ties; or I perform esser le to or through			nties (please fully desc	cribe all
	ust complete all applicable sec	ctions.				
My dı	river's license has previous	ly been suspend	led for:			
	A second or subsequent Code); Intoxication Assa (Section 49.08, Penal Cod While Intoxicated (Section Code), or Intoxication Ma	ult (Section 4) e), committed v on 49.04, Penal	9.07, Penal within five ye Code); Into	Code), or In ars of a previous ars after a contraction Assa	ntoxication Mansla ous conviction for D	ughter Oriving
In the	past five years, my license	has been suspe	ended for:			
	A refusal to submit to the offense prohibiting the op	_		-	_	

	of a watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance.
 :	An analysis of a breath or blood specimen showing an alcohol concentration of .08 or above, following an arrest for an offense prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated.
	A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code).
	A conviction for an offense other than Driving While Intoxicated (Section 49.04, Penal Code); Intoxication Assault (Section 49.07, Penal Code), or Intoxication Manslaughter (Section 49.08, Penal Code) prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle or watercraft while intoxicated, under the influence of alcohol, or under the influence of a controlled substance.
Section	n 5. Additional Documents.
You mi	ust complete all applicable sections.
(I have obtained evidence of financial responsibility – SR22, which is attached to my petition. (Note: You may not be issued an occupational license unless you obtain evidence of financial responsibility.)
	I have attached a TYPE AR- Certified Abstract of Complete Driver Record
	(which can be found at: www.tx-dps.gov/driving-record) to this petition.
	(Note: the court cannot grant your petition without reviewing your driving record.)
	I have attached documents which demonstrate my essential need to operate a motor vehicle. I have attached other documents, which are described below:
-	
-	
-	

PRAYER

	DERED, Petitioner prays that this Honorable Court grant this end a certified copy of this Petition, along with its order the Department of Public Safety of Texas.
	Petitioner's Signature
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before m	e on this day of, 20
	Notary Public or Clerk of the Justice Court